Labor to build 10 new schools in major funding boost

November 10, 2017

A re-elected Palaszczuk Government will invest $808 million to build 10 new schools and boost education infrastructure in growth areas throughout the state.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said $308 million in new funding would expand the Building Future Schools for Queensland fund to $808 million.

Ms Palaszczuk said the investment would help deliver seven new secondary schools, one special school and two primary schools and planning for another seven schools.

“A Labor government will always build the new classrooms and new schools we need to meet enrolment growth throughout the state,” the Premier said.

“We will ensure that all Queensland students have access to quality schools.

“Our Building Future Schools for Queensland Fund also supports the expansion of West End State School, provides for a new classical dance facility at Kelvin Grove State College in conjunction with Queensland Ballet, master planning for all schools within five kilometres of the Brisbane CBD and strategic land acquisitions.

Ms Palaszczuk said Labor would also deliver up to $235 million to 2021-22 to renew and refurbish 17 high schools.

“This funding will provide at least $10 million to each school to build new learning facilities and carry out major upgrades,” she said.

“The schools we have identified for this program are more than 30 years old and require this extra an injection to bring them up to a quality standard students and teachers deserve.

“This is on top of our rolling $750 million fund over four years to maintain Queensland’s 25,000 school buildings across 1239 schools.’’

The Palaszczuk Government in a first for Queensland has committed one per cent of asset replacement value to support maintenance in Queensland schools.

The Premier said the Newman-Nicholls Government shut schools and cut 500 teachers.

“Last time Tim Nicholls was in power, he shut schools without community consultation, threatened to sell off the land and he sacked teachers,” she said.

“Mr Nicholls had a hit list of more than 50 schools he planned to close.

“On top of that, the LNP didn’t properly maintain our state schools – they had no plan and left behind a backlog of $260 million in critical maintenance.

“In just three budgets, the Palaszczuk Government has reduced the Newman- Nicholls Government’s maintenance backlog by more than $100 million.

“Only Labor can be trusted to invest in state education.”

Education Minister Kate Jones said the Palaszczuk Government’s commitment to education was unrivalled in Queensland’s history.

“In a world where the demands on our young people are constantly changing, education has never been so important,” she said.

“That’s why we’ve delivered three consecutive record education budgets and boosted the infrastructure fund to give our teachers and students world-class facilities.

“Teachers make the magic happen but the quality of classrooms and school grounds is crucial in engaging students.”

“This year we invested a record $765 million school infrastructure investment to build new schools on the Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Townsville and Yarrabilba among other projects.

“Through our $200 million Advancing Queensland Schools fund we’re building and upgrading halls at 30 schools and funding capital renewal at another 24.

New schools to be delivered:

New Primary Schools:

  • Springfield West (last public-private partnership school to be delivered)

  • Ripley Valley

New Special School

  • Caboolture area

New Secondary Schools

  • North Lakes/Mango Hill

  • Coomera/Pimpama

  • Yarrabilba

  • Calliope (West of Gladstone)

  • Fortitude Valley Brisbane

  • Brisbane Inner City south

  • Ripley Valley (Ipswich)




Planning for new schools

Primary Schools

  • Palmview

  • Logan Reserve

  • Shaw (Townsville)

  • Mount Peter (Cairns)

Special Schools

  • Northern Gold Coast

  • Sunshine Coast

Secondary Schools

Caloundra South

High School Renewal

This investment will support 17 high schools across Queensland, all more than 30 years old.

The 17 schools are:

  • Aspley State High School

  • Bundaberg State High School

  • Cairns State High School

  • Mansfield State High School

  • Mitchelton State High School

  • Toowoomba State High School

  • Corinda State High School

  • Proserpine State High School

  • Springwood State High School

  • Maryborough State High School

  • Indooroopilly State High School

  • Tropical North Learning Academy (Smithfield State High School/Trinity Beach State High School)

  • Sarina State High School

  • Heatley Secondary College

  • Everton Park State High School

  • Ferny Grove State High School